Are Minors Entitled to Workers’ Compensation Benefits in Florida?

Workers’ compensation benefits are there to help those who need medical care, rehabilitation, or even disability coverage after suffering from a work-related injury. As a minor, you may be wondering if your age will affect your ability to receive workers’ compensation benefits in Florida.

Are Minors Eligible?

Yes, under Florida law a minor is eligible to receive workers’ compensation benefits as long as they were injured while performing within the parameters of their job. Therefore, if you work retail as a 16-year old and you are injured at work from lifting a heavy object to stock shelves, you would qualify for workers’ compensation just as much as a 30-year old.

Minor Injured at Work

Age does not affect eligibility for workers’ compensation benefits and if an employer leads you to believe that your age status will, you should contact an attorney right away.

Understanding Eligibility

Florida law requires all employers with four or more employees to have workers’ compensation insurance. In construction, however, the requirement falls to just one employee. Only employees are eligible for workers’ compensation, regardless of age. These can include:

  • Contract employees
  • Full-time and part-time employees
  • An alien
  • A minor
  • An individual on work-release

There are instances when a person will not qualify for workers’ compensation benefits. These situations can include:

  • Freelance workers
  • Independent contractors
  • Professional athletes
  • Domestic workers or nannies in private residences
  • Volunteer workers
  • Casual laborers (those hired for specific jobs that last less than ten days)

Injuries Must Arise Out of Job-Related Tasks

The law clearly states you must have an injury that occurred while performing a job-related task in order to qualify for workers’ compensation. If you are injured at home and it is not related to work, then you cannot claim workers’ compensation. Also, you must notify your employer within 30 days of the work-related injury with the effects of the injury, the date it occurred, and the date you received medication attention and a diagnosis.

If you do not report your injury within the 30-day window, then the employer’s insurer is not liable for covering your injuries and you could lose your opportunity to receive any benefits. Therefore, it is imperative that you notify a supervisor immediately to avoid any issues with eligibility.

What Benefits Am I Entitled to as a Minor?

You are entitled to the same level of benefits as an adult. These benefits can include medical care, lost wages, and even disability if you are permanently injured. If you are unable to return to work, then you will receive a lump sum payout rather than weekly payments. Also, depending on your work history and work restrictions after the accident, you may receive permanent disability.

Injured at Work? Contact the Workers’ Comp Attorneys at Sternberg & Associates

If you were injured on the job, contact Boca Raton work injury attorneys at Scott J. Sternberg & Associates today for a free consultation. Even if you are a minor, you are entitled to workers’ compensation. So call us for your appointment at 561-687-5660 now.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s